Zac Shavrick- Artist and Amazing Iron Sculpturer!


This month i had the pleasure of doing a short interview with Zac Shaverick, a new/york based Artist of truly remarkable Sculpters. Have a Look below and enjoy!  There are links to his website, where much more of his work is being displayed and Zac is available for contact.

Zac Shavrick was born in 1987 and raised primarily by his father, Barry. Fascinated by his father’s work, Zac would join him in his metal shop where they welded together. By age five, Zac was welding on his own, by seven, he was fabricating entire sculptures. As he developed, his work was influenced by his world of games, fantasy novels and movies, including Tim Burton’s Nightmare Before Christmas.

´´In a world gone Mad, it is Madness to be Sane´´

 

1. Can you tell me a little bit about how you start working on a sculpture? As in, do you get inspired first or do you just start somewhere and go along and see how it evolves or maybe you work it out on computer first….

(I have tried and love to sculpt in stone but i reckon it is different from how you work because you build and mold while sculpting in stone is cutting away… Could you do a sculpture from stone too? Or do you think that is a complete other proces to work out…)

Zac-

Well… there is no exact way which I go about starting a project; either an idea has been festering in my head and I’m able to allot the time to getting it into sculptural form or I’ll just go into the shop and start working and see what comes of it. Either way the inspiration is ever-present and  It’s all a very natural and free flowing process, one which constantly  evolves  as I’m working.  Commission work, however, is a whole different story; often requiring intense preliminary drawings or small scale moquettes.  

As far as stone goes, I haven’t actually done direct stone carving. I’ve carved some plaster, which follows the same principals, and had a real good time with it. I think it all translates pretty well, but my skill set is focused on metal so i generally stick to that medium. The process of fabricating steel is indeed, primarily,  building up little by little, however, I often employ a torch to carve away at the works, especially in the later stages.  But hey, If I get my hands on the right tools and a huge block of nice stone… well lets just say I’d have my work cut out for me. 

2. You and your work are known also by a few celebrities as Ozzy etc…what was your nicest experience with that or how did you go about it?

Zac-

The whole celebrity thing was a lot of fun for me. Selling to Ozzy was very exciting, but I was never a huge Ozzy Fan… John Rzeznick of the Goo Goo Dolls is a real great dude and having sold work to him on a few occasions was pretty excellent, but I’d have to say being backstage at the Up In Smoke tour and hanging out with Snoop Dogg and X-Zibit (who was an incredibly nice dude) and the rest of those dudes was the best. 

3. Who are your biggest inspirations and examples?

Zac-

When I was a little kid just growing up I was always enamored by the works of pop-artist Kenny Scharf ( I still am), then when I was about 8 years old I met up with a metal sculptor named J.J. Veronis who became a resounding inspiration (again, still is) and also a very prominent mentor of mine. In the last four or five years the works of Greg “Craola” Simpkins and Alex Pardee have served as tremendous sources of inspiration as have many of the other current low-brow phenomenons. Oh and of course I can’t forget Robert Williams  who has been a wealth of inspiration throughout… 

4. Can you tell me about the MalEvolution sculpture, how you came to that? and who/what inspired you to do this?(It is btw a marvelous piece!)

Zac-

The evolution sculpture… Malevolution as I’ve called it… what can I say about this piece… well for one thing it’s still evolving.  I just added a sculpture to it’s epic procession ( Big Bernie who was recently posted at http://zacmax.blogspot.com)  and I plan on continuing to revisit it. It’s a fun piece to continually work on because it offers a lot of room to play around, the concept of evolution being one that is inherently open ended. I guess Darwin would have to be cited as the primary inspiration, he is credited as the concepts founding father.  I could go into greater detail, but I like to leave the interpretations up to the viewer, that way it continues to evolve. 

 .

.

Zac, i wish you a whole Bunch of succes with your Art and thanks for this lovely interview!

For more about Zac Shaverick and contact, go here-

http://www.zacmax.com/portfolio.php?c=1

and his for his Blog go here-

http://zacmax.blogspot.com/

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

