Eye-Controlled Laptop and ‘Telepresence’ Robot Debut


The future is happening at CeBIT, the world’s top tech fair in Hanover, Germany.

 

via discoverychannel

THE GIST

  • A laptop that allows users to open files, play music and view pictures using their eyes was on display.
  • So was a humanoid robot that could transform business meetings and reduce the need for long-distance travel.

Billed as a global first, a laptop allowing users to open files, play music and view pictures using just the power of their eyes was turning heads Wednesday at the CeBIT, the world’s top tech fair.

The otherwise unremarkable laptop integrates cutting-edge “eye tracking” technology by Swedish firm Tobii that follows the movement of the user’s eyes and allows him or her to operate menus and select icons.

The prototype is also good for the environment as it recognizes when you are not looking at it and automatically goes into screen saver mode, saving energy, Tobii says. It restarts as soon as the user glances at the monitor again.

“It’s definitely going to be in the laptops of the future,” said Anders Olsson from Tobii. “You can do pretty much anything you would do with your normal laptop.

“We’ve been stuck for a quarter of a century with a keyboard and a mouse. It’s time to move to the next step and eye control technology is the perfect solution.”

The technology is already used in other areas, including in car safety where a sensor tracks eye movement to determine whether the driver is drowsy, and in helping paralyzed people operate everyday objects just with their eyes.

Read more over here: http://news.discovery.com/tech/eye-controlled-laptop-and-telepresence-robot-debut-110303.html#mkcpgn=rssnws1

14 Comments

  1. […] Eye-Controlled Laptop and 'Telepresence' Robot Debut (artaffactory.wordpress.com) Email Bookmark Google Delicious Facebook Twitter Digg StumbleUpon Reddit LinkedIn Mixx More… […]

  2. I was very happy to search out this net-site.I needed to thanks in your time for this wonderful learn!! I positively enjoying each little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

  3. Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thanks

  4. I found your blog on yahoo and can bookmark it now. carry on the great work.

  5. Many thanks for making this place wonderful, i have to say i appreciate all of the labor that you do on this great web site.

  6. Im impressed, I must say. really rarely do I discovered a blog thats both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, youve hit the nail on the top. Your opinion is outstanding; the matter is something that not plenty of people are speaking intelligently concerning. Im really happy that I stumbled across this in my rummage around for something regarding it.

  7. I like this post a lot. i will undoubtedly be back. Hope that i’ll be able to scan more insightful posts then. are going to be sharing your data with all of my friends!

  8. This is good info! Where else will if ind out more?? Who runs this joint too? continue the nice work

  9. Oh my goodness! a tremendous article dude. Thanks However I am experiencing challenge with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting similar rss problem? Anybody who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

    • You should be able to subscribe or if you enter your email you’ll get updates too. Thank you.

  10. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  11. Just needed to mention your blog is incredibly smart. I sometimes wish to hear thereforeme issue new regarding this mainly because I actually have the similar blog in my Country on this subject so this help´s me a lot. I did a probe on a subject matter matter and observed a really sensible variety of blogs however nothing like this.Thanks for sharing most in your blog.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

